Chelsea’s Entertainment Reviews

Pursuit of Happyness (2006)

A

 Overall Rating = 9.31/10
Type; Drama >>> Emotional Drama
Five out of Seven on the Chelsea’s Reviews Dramatic Level Meter

There was so much hype about this movie being the best of the year, and how it was meant to sweep people off there feet that I was sure I was only getting my hopes up by going to see it. But it was jaw dropping. Im just going to take a moment to reflect on Will Smith as a sole contributer to this film. I have almost always hated Will Smith, from Fresh Prince, to his music career and most of iRobot, but he blew me away in this one. I never thought that he could do such a good job in such a meaningful film, I was on the edge of my seat waiting the whole time for him to drop all that he had built up. It would be too much to say that this film changed my life, but it definatley changed my night.  Just the fact that it was based on a true story makes you really beleive that anything is possible. Chris Gardener went through the hardest times and he never lost his focus or once gave up on himself and Im sure that there would never have been such a struggle to overcome if he didnt have a son that he loved with all of his heart. I loved watching it, it was perfectly funny, sad and annoying and never once messed up the great combination of emotions. Will Smiths son did a phenominal job playing the role of WIll Smiths Son… and I’ll be waiting to see him act in roles that he doesnt live every day, no im kidding he did an excellent job breaking my heart and then fixing it again. I recomend that you see this movie if you havent already because if nothing else it will most defineatly be an inspiration.

9.2/10

B

Wow, this movie was amazing. I dont think that it would have been as powerful as it was if it had been a little tv screen. But being in the movie theatre with this huge screen made the story so much better..I have never really cared for Will Smith, except kind of in the old Men in Black movies. But i must say hats off to Will Smith and his little son who did a remarkable job portraying such a powerful story.  I think that if this story wasnt the actual reality of a mans struggle in life it wouldnt have been so great, but knowing it was a true story left my jaw dropping in many places throughout the film. Congrats to Will Smith for actually pulling off making a great film!

9.42/10

R

December 22, 2006 - Posted by | Movies

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

