Chelsea’s Entertainment Reviews

Children of Men (2006)

C

Overall Rating = 6.04/10
Type; Drama >>> War/Battle/Action Drama
Two out of Seven on the Chelsea’s Reviews Dramatic Level Meter

I thought that I was really going to enjoy this movie, even half an hour into it I thought that it was good and then it just went downhill. I was extremely interested in the concept of the film, it reminded me of 1984 or The Running Man but it really let me down. It was set in 2027 in England and the world was pretty much coming to an end. The youngest person in all of the world was 18 and everyone was killing eachother. The storyline was entertaining; something id like to change: Julianne Moore wouldnt die within the first 30 minutes of the movie. It had its funny moments and some of the effects were awesome but it was a really strange film. The war scenes were filmed in a documentary/video game type angle. It felt really dragged on and the ending was seriously horrible. It had this weird biblical scenario in the middle where they were walking with the baby through the soldiers and everyone was praying and reaching out to touch the child and then the bombs started again, it was really random and forced just like the ending. I had high hopes for this film but it just wasnt as good as i thought it would be.

5.83/10

B

Children of Men, what to say about Children of Men. I think i may have went to the theatre expecting way to much of this film. When i seen trailers i seen Julianne Moore, and well enough said i love Julianne Moore. So of course i expected this movie to be absolutely brilliant with an amazing storyline, amazing actors/actresses, and amazing everything. The one good thing it did deliver was Julianne Moore, and only for half an hour. This film let me down. It was an incredibly sad movie and i did enjoy it a little bit, it was a little bit dry and could have had much better actors and such. I guess the strangeness of every women but one was infertile, and it had been this way for the past 18 years is what intrigued me in the first place. I think one of the saddest parts of the whole movie was watching Jasper get shot, it wrenched on my heart! I mean come on why did he have to die!! He didnt hurt anyone!! ok, anyways, and the other horrid, wretched part in this movie was the ending. The ending was one of the worst endings i have seen in almost any movie. I mean the girl finally finds the “Tomorrow” boat and then the movie ends…did she die? did they decide to shoot her? or did she get on the boat and get to the Human Projects? I mean thats what the whole movie was about, it was about getting her and her new born baby to the Human Projects where they would be safe! Now, nobody will ever know if they got there. Unless….sequel? *vomit*

6.25/10

R

January 6, 2007 - Posted by | Movies

2 Comments »

  1. You see, I loved the film and thought it was great and powerful.

    I’d probably edit your review to not show who dies, as that is a major storyline. 😉

    Comment by carocat | January 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. My reviews always have spoilers 🙂 I should find a way to make that known, thanks.

    Comment by Chelsea | January 6, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

