Chelsea’s Entertainment Reviews

Memoirs of a Geisha (2005)

B+

Overall Rating = 8.42/10
Type; Drama >>> Romantic Drama
Five out of Seven on the Chelsea’s Reviews Dramatic Level Meter

This movie slipped my mind for a while, I remember when I first heard of it and watched a couple trailers I was really into it, but then it seems to disappear for a while and I didnt hear of it agian until recently when i desided to watch it. Im glad that I did, and I wish I had have sooner.

This film is amazing. The woman are beautiful in their cultural robes and what not. The colours throughout this film were incredible, they were so vibrant, and goregous. This film did an amazing job depicting the problems that these people are having with children being sold for money…and being taken in for either prostitution, or for entertainment…to be mens dates or whatever. They didnt exactly sugar-coat anything in this film either, maybe a little..but they didnt try to make it seem as if they were trying to fix the problem as much as they were showing that this is whats happening and making people realize holy shit these poor young,young girls are being sold and forced to live places they dont want to live, away from their families especially..and they dont understand that they were sold as much as they think they were just taken. And they’re being forced to do things that they have no desire to do. But in the end these girls are brainwashed into thinking that they have to be a certain way, and they have to work to be beautiful when they were goregous to begin with. I like this film alot, and i would watch it again in a heartbeat.

8.5/10

R

Everything about this film is interesting, every scene and shot has a perfect motion. I didn’t really get into following the movie, not becuase it wasnt interesting, but becuase it just wasnt the right time for me to watch it.
I think if I watched it again in the near future I would have more respect for it. I look forward to seeing it again, I really enjoyed what I saw of it the first time.

8.33/10

B

The Acting Reviews;

Ken Watanabe

B+

I know that I’ve seen more films with Watanbe in them, I just can’t remember which ones. I love this actor though, I love all of the facial expressions that he makes, and all of the amazing roles that he can adapt to. Maybe it’s because he kinda looks like my uncle, but I just love watching his films. He really fit the part that he played in Memoirs of a Geisha well.

*Ken Watanabe Filmography on IMDb.com*

April 29, 2007 - Posted by | Movies

1 Comment »

  1. Hi! Thanks for the comment on my site.

    You guys have an awesome site here and I’ll link it on mine.
    Haven’t seen this movie yet, but I will. I remember reading in a review that some were complaining that there were Japanese actors playing Chinese charaters. It was an issue mostly because of the political issues still existing between China and Japan today.

    I’ll pass through again soon!

    Paul

    Comment by Paul Chislett | May 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

